Week 29

How far along: 29 weeks

How big is baby: Actually growing! I mean, not that obsessively measuring… but he definitely hit a growth spurt mid-week. Of course a coworker had to comment on it: “Oh wow! The alien sure spread overnight!” Yup. Spread. She sure knows how to make a pregnant woman feel attractive.  But ya, I’ve run out of vegetable comparisons

Best moment of the week: When my almost 2 year old nephew was lounging on me, and Minkus kicked him in the back, so he turned around and patted the baby. I tried to explain that his cousin was in there, but he was very clear that he knew his cousins (he then listed them), and then patted it again and said “soup” which is what he had been eating for supper. Everyone’s got something to say about the belly….

Food cravings: Nothing specific this week. I’m still on a fruit / vegetable kick.

Symptoms: One night, back pain woke me up, and there’s the occasional day of heartburn, oh and the killer migraine (but that was more stress-related) but overall, I’m settling into this whole pregnant thing. I’ve decided pregnancy is like a road trip where you’re excited for it to happen, excited for the first 1/2 hour, and then you realize how long it’s going to take, and how uncomfortable it is, and then eventually you just sort of settle into it and it’s fine.

Gender: Still predominantly boy, but I’m getting waves of girl. I told my sister when she was pregnant with her first, that I was going to refer to her kid as a boy before “he” was born, and then “she” would be female once she was born. Starting to feel that way with this kid (of mine, not hers. I’m with her daughter on this… her third is a kitten).

What I’m looking forward to: Buying a frigging stroller. The search has NOT been fun, and I just want to win at it.

What I miss: Having a good day at the gym and being able to enjoy it. I had a particularly good run one day, but the comments of people I ran into on the way in and way out of the gym pretty much ruined it. I have taken ample precautions — not running alone, reducing my speed, monitoring my heart rate, keeping myself hydrated, walking at the slightest suggestion of discomfort — but the simple idea of a pregnant woman not having her ass firmly parked on the couch? That’s outrageous!

Husband perspective:

Scott: can I get you something?
Cara: Aw, thanks! Milk. Lots of milk. Apparently, we’re at the stage where the kid’s bones are going from soft to hard.
Scott: like a taco?

Why are my pictures always friggin' crooked?

Categories: Pregnancy | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

