Charlie

Charlie, our little girl, is now 11 days old.

Those 11 days have been long, and followed 25 hours of labour (at least in my books). Half an hour ago, as she voraciously fed, again, for the second time that hour, I would have told you they have been a hard 11 days. But now, as she lays sleeping beside me, they are the most magical 11 days. Yes, life really does change that quickly here. Or rather, perspective does.

And that’s the most important lesson I’ve learned. With a rough labour, a painful delivery, and a complicated recovery, I could easily spend my days wallowing in self-pity. But wallowing won’t change what has happened. Instead, I’ve learned that if I wait 10 minutes, something else WILL change, and that will give me a new way to look at my new world.

Charlie & Scott

Categories: The new identity | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

