The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time Or Why My Husband is a Jerk

I’ve always been a sensitive person, and that has only been amplified in the last year. I’m sure that’s why my husband expressed concern when I picked up The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. Yes, I realize that most people read this book closer to 2003, when it was released, but it’s been on my “must read” list for a long time. I wasn’t going to let Scott’s raised eyebrow stop me.

I was about halfway through the book when I told Scott it was getting a little rough — the emotion, not the writing. In fact, it was the writing that made it such an emotional read. Scott said it wasn’t going to get any easier, but I decided to tough it out.

Ten minutes later, Scott’s caution was echoing in my head as I worked through another emotional scene. I hmm’d and haw’d whether to keep going. I told Scott if it were a TV show, I’d skip the episode and just Wikipedia it. At that point, Scott took a deep, slow breath in, and said maybe I shouldn’t finish it. Being a tad bit oppositional, I wiki’d it and figured I could tough it out.

Reading to the end was a nailbiter. It was around 5:00 am (I was up feeding Charlie at the time) when I finished it. Sad, yes, but nearly as devastating as Scott had led on? Not in the least bit. The book is without a doubt emotionally gripping. Never before have I felt so tied to a character, making any emotional disturbance entirely worthwhile. It definitely is the must read I always assumed it was.

Book: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Rating: 5/5
Features: Stirring first person narration
Who should read it: Everyone. Seriously. Everyone.

Categories: Book Review | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time Or Why My Husband is a Jerk

  1. I remember really liking it when I read it – it was a Book Club selection several years ago.

    Note: because you love to read and love words, not as a criticism :)…it’s “hem and haw”. http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/hem+and+haw.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

