Being Guilted Into Food

A month or so ago I went to an information session on starting your baby on solid foods. The dietitian mentioned the importance of starting with iron-rich foods, and then moving on to full-fat foods. Introduce one new item every three days or so, to help pinpoint allergies, and eventually your child will learn to enjoy a range of different, and healthy, food options. She added in: “And it wouldn’t hurt if you ate those healthy food options too”

While I used this information session as a way to defend my obsession with putting 14% sour cream on everything (“But she said “full fat”), it also made me realize that despite eating relatively healthily, Scott and I are quite picky eaters, and tend to make the same “safe” choices.

Since then, I’ve been trying to introduce one or two new healthy options into our meals, whether it’s new ingredients, or preparing things in new ways. We’ve started adding kale to our salads, and making our own dressings. While I’d usually skip onions in any recipe, I’ve started introducing leaks in their place, hoping to eventually work my way up to onions. I even ate one thing this week I didn’t think I ever would: I created: “Quiche à la Seuss” which combined my dislike of both eggs and cooked spinach (it turns out if you blend the spinach with the milk, and add a lot of cheese, I don’t get put off by the texture of one, and the taste of the other. Plus, I may have giggled over the colour of the resulting dish).

We’re still a couple weeks away from giving Charlie any type of solid food, and it’ll be a while before she’s really eating anything adventurous, but she now sits with us at the table as we eat, and sees us trying new things. As good as that is for her to see, I think we’re the ones getting the most benefit out of it!


Quiche à la Seuss

1 – 9″ pie crust
3 eggs
1 1/2 c milk
3 links chorizo sausage (or for a truly Seuss quiche, use ham!)
1 1/2 c cheddar cheese
3 leak stalks
Handfuls of fresh spinach
2 cloves garlic

1. Brown sausage (removed from casing) on the stove into crumbly little bits
2. Blend milk with leaks, garlic and handfuls of spinach, adding more spinach until you have about 2 1/2 cups liquid. Add in eggs and blend to combine.
3. Layer meat and 1 1/4c of cheese into bottom of pie plate, then pour liquid mixture over top.
4. Bake in an oven preheated to 375 degrees for approximately 45 minutes. Read Green Eggs and Ham approximately
5. Remove and top with remaining cheese

IMG_2810

Categories: The new identity | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

