Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: Or being almost 20 years behind the times

I don’t like doing back to back fiction works, as I like to keep it interesting, but when you’ve got Harry Potter on hold, the library automatically checks it out for you, and you know you don’t get much time to read it, before it’s off to the next person.

I’m not sure what propelled me to read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling after years of saying I had no interest. Perhaps that was reason within itself: it’s always good to push yourself. While I understand why it was hugely popular within the general public (a surprisingly quick read, despite its length, and full of interest and intrigue), I still can’t understand why it was so immensely popular within academic settings. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it still held public interest almost two decades after its release, thought that could very well be related to the fact that those who read it feverishly upon its release are now reading it to their children. I have no doubt that it may very well become an children’s classic.

I actually found the book to be too much to read before bed. I was surprised at the fact it gave me nightmares. Granted, some days anything can give me nightmares, but the degree to which I found myself trying to distract myself after reading it before bed makes me a touch wary to encourage a child to read it. However, the tale is sweet, and setting is mystical so I have no problem handing it over to C when she’s old enough… and during daylight hours.

I enjoyed it, but I’m not sure I’ll keep reading the rest of the series.

Book: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Author: J. K. Rowling
Rating: 4/5
Features: a well crafted magical world
Who should read: Anyone who likes to be transported to another world.

Categories: The new identity | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: Or being almost 20 years behind the times

  1. Courtney BH

    Yikes! If the first one gave you nightmares, they only get darker from there. I was pretty late to the Hogwarts train–read them for the first time when I was 22 at Caelin’s behest–but now I re-read the series pretty much every Christmas!

  2. I have tried SOOOO hard to get into Harry Potter and I still can’t do it! So I give you kudos for finishing the first book! The movies worked a little better for me.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

