Happy Birthday C

My little girl turned 1 this morning.

The other night, I was telling Scott about the cliché: “To be a mother is to have your heart walk forever outside your body” and how annoying it was to know that it is true. However, as Romantic as the sentiment may be, it is truly Gothic. My sweet girl is fiercely independent. There are times when she barely offers me a quick hug when I leave. She’ll push me away at bedtime some nights to fall asleep in the crib on her own. She’ll insist on feeding the sloppy oatmeal to herself. At these times, it can often feel as though your heart has been plunged from your chest and the gaping wound is exposing your entrails.

But as gut-wrenching as it is, every moment (even during those first three months where a day seemed to last a week, and yet an hour of sleep passed in a blink) has been worth it. I miss my little squishy newborn, but I am so excited to see where life takes her.

And where ever she goes, she’ll always take my heart with her.

Categories: The new identity | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday C

  1. I know it’s a day late, but happy birthday again to little C. You’ve nailed it about motherhood on the head pretty well. So many emotions – all of it worth it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

