Currently: In November

What a month October was, but here we are in November! Thank you for Anne and Jenna for another month’s Currently!

Cooking: clean comfort foods. Homemade hamburger helper, crockpot baked potato soup, chicken pot pies. This is what fall is all about!

Planning: our “life reboot”. I’ve finally hit the acceptance stage of my “back to work” grieving process, and while it doesn’t mean I like it, it means that I am ready to implement long term strategies to make this new life run smoothly. Work outs, meal plans, cleaning schedules… They’re my jam

Smelling: Chicken carcass stewing in water with dead plants. You know, the aroma of making homemade chicken stock.

Appreciating: My parents for giving up their retirement to look after my little girl. I don’t know how long they’ll keep this up, and my brain just doesn’t want to comprehend how to switch to daycare after this. Excuse me, I have to go buy a lottery ticket… oh wait… didn’t I just say I’d accepted being back at work?

Anticipating: Is it too early to say Christmas? We put on The Addams Family on Halloween, which starts with Christmas carols. C’s little eyes lit up, her face broke into a big smile, she raised her little arm up, and stomped her feet in her little dance. Now, this kid loves music, but I’ve never seen her explode with joy in that way. So strange how she was barely 3 months old when she last experienced Christmas, and almost 2 whole months until Christmas comes again, but she’s already figured it out.

Categories: The new identity | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Currently: In November

  1. I’m so glad I”m not the only one super excited for Christmas. I’m trying to hold off busting out decorations until at least Nov 15. It’s just so magical with the kiddos!
    That’s amazing that your parents are caring for your little, what a lifesaver that is.
    OMG I want all of those recipes you talked about… comfort food is my fav… sadly working out hasn’t been so that’s been an issue lol

  2. Not too early to be excited for Christmas at all – I’m totally there. Usually I hate the whole skipping from Halloween right to Christmas stuff, but not this year. Kids will do that to you I guess!

  3. I laughed over your description of making chicken stock… too funny. Good luck with the “life reboot”. I know you’ll get through it and find balance in your work/home life. It takes some time, but you’ll get there. I wouldn’t pass up the opportunity to stay home, but I have accepted that it isn’t happening right now. Good luck! 🙂

  4. Aw, your Christmas is going to be such a sweet one! I love that your little girl is already so excited–I am excited too!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

