In the Year 2015

  • I met my bare minimum goal of reading 12 books, which is significantly more than in the past few years, so definitely still a successScreen Shot 2015-12-31 at 7.16.04 PM
  • I managed to overcome my high school insecurities and completed 8 months of stroller fitness (even though C often would only cooperate if she was in a carrier on my back), managed to get my stroller hating daughter on-board with with running, squeezed in a few home workouts and made it back to the gym when I returned to work.

  • I got sucked into the world of babywearing, and went from “why do people spend so much money on this” to stalking wraps. Just a couple more carriers and I’m set ­čśŤ

    20716248975_2e7ef50939_z

  • We didn’t have monthly adventures, but we get to do a number of things including Festival du Voyageur, C’s first time to a swimming pool, celebrated C’s baptism, helped with a family garage sale, got rained out of an outdoor concert, went to the zoo, spent a couple of weekends at a cabin, had our first family vacation, saw Uncle J marry Auntie J, went to the beach, went to a corn maze, and celebrated an 85th, a 90th and a 90th birthday, on top of the usual activities. Ya, we kept busy!

    A busy calendar.

  • I got me back. I don’t know whether it was going back to work, weaning C, or simply just time, but I ended this year in a good place — feeling like myself. It’s been a long two years, and while many good things happened, but it’s been a struggle when my greatest joy (C) was also the reason I wasn’t me.

    21309430148_3e1ae5e887_k
    I have no concrete plans for 2016. There are a few things that would be nice if they happened. I’d like to look at different opportunities at work, if the right ones come up. I’d like to take a family road trip, but I’ll be just as happy if it’s 2 1/2 hours away as if it were 2 1/2 days away. But more and more, I’m wanting to just sit back and enjoy the year as it comes. I’m looking forward to it.

Categories: The new identity | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “In the Year 2015

  1. yay for getting back to you,m that’s the hardest part of motherhood (for me, anyways).
    I LOVE baby-wearing, mostly because it’s so necessary around here. I pop Oliver in the Tula at LEAST once a day!
    You look FANTASTIC in that pic!! way to go momma!

    Confessions of a Frumpy Mommy

  2. You certainly embraced the babywearing more than I ever did! Ollie just never liked the wraps very much. And I can relate to losing yourself a bit in the beginning of motherhood, I think finding yourself again is awesome! I hope 2016 is super awesome!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

