2016 Reading Challenge: Book 1

A friend of mind posted on Instagram a 12 book reading challenge for 2016 from Modern Mrs. Darcy (a blog/podcast I’m not familiar with, but seems interesting. Bookmarked) It seemed… doable. And the motto in our house usually ends up being “Doable and passable”.  I decided to give it a try. As you read the other day, I picked up a “book I own but haven’t read” and discovered it was actually a “book I previously abandoned”.  MMD-2016-Reading-Challenge-page-001

 

Book: Bluebeard’s Egg by Margaret Atwood

What bugs me the most about Atwood is how often she recycles ideas. While the marginalia in the first short story tipped me off that I had at least read that story once before, the lack of marginalia suggested I gave up after that story. Yet, everything felt so familiar. I kept thinking “was this in Cat’s Eye? Edible Woman? Life Before Man?” which felt especially odd, since the connections I was supposed to be drawing were from fairy tales NOT written by Atwood (as blatantly suggested by the title).  I feel it’s fairly safe to say that I love the Atwood of the late to mid 90s. What I find most interesting about Atwood’s short story collections (which is particularly pertinent in this one) is that I spend a good portion of the first few stories trying to piece together if it is the same narrator, or whether they just work well enough together. Knowing Atwood, it is something we are meant to question, especially given the abrupt shift to the first person narration at the end.

3/5 stars for Atwood, which is 4/5 for every other scale.

Categories: The new identity | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenge: Book 1

  1. I’ve read a few of Atwood’s (Handmaid’s Tale, Blind Assassin, Alias Grace [my fave]) but not that one. Interesting that she recycles her ideas… how frustrating to start reading just to realize you already read it!

  2. This is a really great reading challenge. I might have to try it out, I have been so behind on reading, I need something to kick me in the behind!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

