These Little Moments #3

I’ve had the luxury of taking random days off of work, as my vacation allotment ran from September until this coming April, instead of a full year, as a result of my mat leave timing. There were no family vacations to eat up a chunk of them, no out of town weddings to plan around, and with my parents looking after C, no sick-child days either. Yes, these vacation days still have to cover her doctors’ appointments and the like, but we have a good number of “just because” days.

Without a laundry list of things to do, I wanted these days to be “special”. We had the first day, since Christmas break, this last Friday. For a “special” day, it felt ordinary.

I was fortunate to get 12 months off of work to spend with C after she was born. It’s been four months since I went back. But even after 4 months, from the minute I wake up on days I spend with C at home, I fall back into our old mat-leave routine without a thought. Eat breakfast. Get dressed. Do some cleaning. Run some errands. Home in time for lunch. Nap. Play time. Tidy up. Start supper. If it weren’t for C frantically searching the house for “Dada,” thinking it’s the weekend, or insistently handing me her snow boots, thinking I’ve forgotten to take her to daycare, I might even forget that I’d gone back to work.

But I had gone back to work. After adjusting to seeing her for a short time in the morning, and only a few hours in the evening, a full day with C felt expansive. There was time for a dance party while making the bed. There was no nagging voice in my head as I read my book and snuggled a sleepy baby after her nap. And there was even a moment where I consciously chose not to play with C. Without the feeling of needing to soak up every second of her attention, I had the chance to actually sit and watch her enjoy her little world as she chattered away to her little stuffed friends.

IMG_5901

Days like Friday didn’t happen every day when I was home with her. I doubt I was that relaxed and patient for a full day very often at all in that whole year. It was a hard decision to go back to work. Weekends are never long enough, and rarely offer much time for just C and I to spend together. But when we get those chances to spend time together, just the two of us, even the most ordinary day feels magical.

Linking up with Shaunacey of Confessions of a Frumpy Mom for Monday Moments of Gratitudemondaymoments

Categories: The new identity | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “These Little Moments #3

  1. This is often how I feel when I take a day off with Ollie, we often don’t do anything special, but it still feels special. My office is closed for a day next month and I am already looking forward to our normal day at home!

  2. aw this made me tear up thinking about going back to work. I have been trying so hard lately to be more present while I’m on mat leave. To be happier just ‘being’ and enjoying my kids instead of feeling like I need to do all of the things. It’s freeing, and kinda fun! BUT, me time is important too. I make Annabelle have quiet time when Annabelle naps so I can enjoy a quick cup of coffee and relax 🙂
    thanks so much for linking up, I’m hoping you’re enjoying writing these posts as much as I’m enjoying reading them!

    Confessions of a Frumpy Mommy

  3. I love this because it’s such a good reminder to be thankful for the days I do have to spend with Jona instead of cranky about the fact that I have to work every day (I’m working on that… ). I agree though, when you’re in the “trenches” day in and day out you don’t really pause to think about how nice it is and how I need to just soak it up. I’m looking forward to my next day off with my little one!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

