These Little Moments #4

I was one chapter away from finishing my book. One short chapter at that. Reading it would mean missing my stop to get off the bus, and the sidewalks were too slippery to read as I walked the rest of the way home.  I put the book away and promised to finish it… eventually. But first, we had to eat. And then Scott had to go to an appointment and I had to put C to bed alone.

Don’t get me wrong, I have no problem putting C to bed most of the time. Lotion. Jammies. Book. Song. Bear. Kiss. And out. But C has been going through a phase where she doesn’t want to go to bed without a fight and it often takes two of us to get her to sleep. In other words, little to no chance of finishing that book!

And to make matters worse, it was bath night. Bath night has been a Daddy-Daughter ritual since birth, for the most part. And there is no one that C loves more than her daddy. I suddenly had visions of her screaming through her bath, and never calming down until Scott came home, and me never getting to finish my book. But bath time was smooth. And bedtime was smoother.

I settled into the couch and finished my book, and rather than doing the dishes or tidying the floor littered with toys in front of me, I grabbed another book. It’s not often I have a quiet peaceful house to myself, especially without hours of work and planning. I know I didn’t accomplish much, and I know there are so many other parents who have to face bedtime alone far more often, but it was a relief to get through it without a fight.

It was just… too… easy… I almost didn’t feel I deserved a glass of wine.

(But I drank it anyway).

24717297366_e38e33416f_o

Linking up with Shaunacey from Confessions of a Frumpy Mom for Monday Moments of Gratitude.

mondaymoments

Categories: The new identity | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “These Little Moments #4

  1. Isn’t it nice when things go better than expected? And Ollie went through that phase of taking both of us to get him down for a long time too. He’s actually started turning the corner on it recently though and is getting into a nice routine now most nights! I think bedtime can be a little rough on the kiddos who are away from their parents all day, they want to spend time with us!

  2. I hate doing bedtime alone… I always get through it, but it’s so so much easier with a little help.
    I’m glad you finished your book AND stared another AND enjoyed a glass of wine, goodness knows you deserve it! thanks for linking up! love reading your little moments posts!

    Confessions of a Frumpy Mommy

  3. mommyhon333

    May this be the first of many, many smooth bedtime routines so that you can enjoy more evenings of wine and reading.

  4. Ahh, if this was always the way!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

