These Little Moments #5

Everyone has bad days at work and so I can’t be immune to them. And as long as the good days outweigh the bad, it should be sustainable. But since Christmas, it’s been hard to bounce back from the bad days. Yes, there have been good days and even they haven’t been few and far between. They just haven’t been re-energizing me like they should.

There was one day that the impending sense of doom (that I’ve taken to feeling at the end of a difficult situation which should be properly concluded but I know will rear its ugly head again) led me to hide out in our file room. Only when I got there, a coworker was doing his filing. I rambled something about my “decision to file every single paper I generate the minute I generate it because I lost my filing basket in the move and don’t miss it, and sometimes you just need to get away from your desk because work is stupid and…” Well, you get the point. His response after I gasped out a concluding sentence (because I forget to breathe during a rant) was: “in case no one has said it, keep up the good work. You’re doing a good job”.

It’s entirely possible the comment was sarcastic (since I was totally in a classic “procrastinate real work” situation), but in that moment I realized that he had said exactly what I needed to hear.

You can get through a bad day, and know you did everything you could. Some days, that’s all you need to get over it. But some days, it just helps having someone else say it.

Linking up with Shaunacey from Confessions of a Frumpy Mom for Monday Moments of Gratitude.

mondaymoments

Categories: The new identity | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “These Little Moments #5

  1. I choose to believe he wasn’t sarcastic and what a perfect thing to say!

    Confessions of a Frumpy Mommy

  2. I would take it at face value too – not sarcastic at all. And yes, you have to cling to those moments! I have had my share of not so great days at the new job but every now and then someone says “good job” or “thank you” and it really does make a difference!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

