These Little Moments #11

I was all set to write a melancholic post about being sure you take note of the small details before it is too late. I’ve spent the weekend mourning a friend who passed away after an aggressive battle with cancer. She was, among many things, an amazing mother to her 3 year old and 7 month old sons. She was present when she was with her kids. And that’s what made her so amazing. It breaks my heart to think of those boys waking up without seeing her smile.

I’m tired of being sad, and so I’m focusing on a moment where I was present with my daughter.

I hate doing dishes. On top of the “dishes” aspect of it, it also means generally fighting with my daughter to keep her entertained and out of the way while we do things like load the dishwasher (“the coolest thing in the kitchen”) and sweep the floor (using the “really awesome stick of wonder”). Usually, I just abandon Scott to clean while I… fight with C in the living room because she can still hear the siren song of the kitchen and someone is in there “having fun” without her.

25252873383_ff3182f887_k

Then one evening, I threw on some music to drown out the impending fight (for the record, we don’t put shoes in the cupboard with the pots and pans), and rather than trying to climb into dishwasher after her Batman straw cup, C started dancing. At that moment, I knew she was distracted enough I could likely take out the garbage without her trying to come with me, or rescue the Tupperware from inside C’s play kitchen. But instead, I started dancing too.

And while we were getting our groove on, Scott started dancing too. And we had a fun little family dance time in the middle of our overly messy kitchen.

It didn’t solve our problem of our overly curious toddler’s attempts to climb into our fridge, or her fixation with sitting on our flour canister. But it made the usual struggles a little easier, and it let me take time to be present with my girl… even though there were things that had to be done.

Linking up with Simply Shaunacey for Monday Moments of Gratitude

unnamed.png

Categories: The new identity | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “These Little Moments #11

  1. I’m so sorry about your friend–you will be in my thoughts and prayers this week for sure. I love that you took that opportunity to just dance and enjoy time with your little one. As much as I’d love to do that more often, I tend to get caught up in the to-do list and I don’t focus as much on the present as I’d like to.

  2. I am so sorry for your loss. It’s so hard when such amazing people are taken too soon and I can’t even think about her children… goodness. Thinking of you as well as her family.

    I absolutely adore how you turned around not only what you intended this post to be but also a challenging moment.

    It’s times like that, when we just let go, that are so unexpectedly awesome. That’s why I started this series. Also, you never know, C may grow up treasuring kitchen dance parties 🙂

    Simply Shaunacey

  3. I know I already told you my heart hurts for your loss. I love this post though – this embodies exactly what I’ve been trying to do this year with the word “present” as my word of the year. It’s not perfect every day but I’m trying to appreciate those little moments too. Love to you lady.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear this Cara! That’s heartbreaking to think of her boys not being able to have her there while they grow up.

    Your story about being present hits home for sure. I’m usually pretty good about avoiding my to do list as long as possible in favor of family time, but last night I was trying to get dishes and today’s prep done before my son’s bedtime so that once he was down I would have nothing but free time to relax. He was watching the end of the movie Wreck it Ralph with my husband and I tend to dance around like a fool with my son for the first song during the movie credits. I wasn’t going to stop what I was doing until I heard my husband say to him, “alright, is momma coming in for your dance party?”. Of course I couldn’t help myself after that! Thanks for the reminder of how important that stuff really is and good for you for taking that time with your daughter!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

