These Little Moments #15

It’s been a while (5 months) since I’ve linked up with Shaunacey for Moments of Gratitude, but boy oh boy did I have a moment for which I am grateful this weekend.

It wasn’t a great weekend. C and I were coming down with a cold we caught from some family at Thanksgiving last weekend. Add to that the fact Scott had to trench our backyard to find out why the power to our garage died on Saturday only to come down with our cold the next day. We were not exactly the most productive family on Sunday. There was a lot of “one more episode of Super Why? Why not?” going on. C was the best of the three of us, until evening. Then she slowly became more and more obviously sick. And then it was time for bed. And then the dramatics started and between the exhaustion induced hyperactivity, the reliance on a soother and the stuffed nose, we had a little girl too sick to calm down and breathe.

So I picked up her teddy bear, her blanket and all 34″ of her, legs and all, crossed the hall into her old nursery. I sat with her in the chair, rocking and singing her lullabies, being dreadfully aware that the next time I’d be in that chair, it was highly likely I’d be holding a much smaller baby, and my already big girl will seem gigantic in comparison.

I rocked and sang and rocked and sang, and enjoyed the moment, despite having TWO kids squishing my bladder, a raspy throat and a house in desperate need of cleaning.  And I accepted that it may have been the last time I rocked C in that chair as my baby girl.

And as if she could read my thoughts, at the end of a lullaby, she told me she was ready to go to bed. I carried her back across the hall to her big girl room, tucked her in snug as a bug in a rug, kissed her on the forehead and closed the door. I gingerly walked to the couch, awaiting the telltale scream of realization that she was awake and alone in her room, but there wasn’t a peep. Before long, she must have fallen asleep, likely with a teddy bear under one arm and her straw cup of water under the other.

While I have no doubt that she will always be my baby, there was no denying she was a big girl tonight, and she is more than willing to step up to that challenge. But if there is one thing I can be grateful for, it is that even as my “big girl” she still sometimes needs me to hold her close, stroke her hair and just let all the problems of the day disappear.

Linking up with Simply Shaunacey for Monday Moments of Gratitude

unnamed.png

Categories: The new identity | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “These Little Moments #15

  1. I may not be having another child but man did this get me in the feels, I still rock Ollie every now and then but I know there’s going to be a time where he doesn’t want it anymore. It’s hard letting go of the baby phase sometimes.

  2. Okay it may be the post-partum hormones going on here but this story totally made me cry it was so sweet! What a sweet memory to share with your first baby, and clearly it was a comfort to her as well. I need to remember to “baby” my son sometimes even though now he’s the big kid. I hope you’re all starting to feel better now!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

