Currently: In November

Is it just me or is time moving slower around these here parts? There’s still not enough time to get everything done, but at least it’s not flying by at a dizzying pace! Thanks to Anne of In Residence and Catherine of A Short Blonde for this month’s Currently!

Discovering: a slow growing tolerance of dates. There have been some preliminary studies (of the actual scientific, peer-reviewed journal type) that eating dates in your last weeks of pregnancy can help labour. Since it’s one of those “no real benefit, no real harm” things, even if the science isn’t proven, I’ve decided to give it a try. Day one was rough because, ew, dates. But day two took less convincing and slowly each subsequent day has been getting better and better.

Celebrating: almost being done work. It’s my understanding that in countries like Germany, the last six weeks until a woman’s due date, she is required to be off work and not have the time count against her total maternity leave allocation. I totally get this so much more the second time around. By 3 pm every day, I’m wiped. But we are into less than a dozen days left of work. Thank goodness.

Starting: baby preparations. With Intrahepactic Cholestasis of Pregnancy potentially being a factor in my prenatal health (ICP is a liver issue which makes pregnant women crazy itchy and can cause some scary complications for baby), we don’t know whether it’s safe to let the baby keep cooking in its own schedule. 1 in 10 women with ICP go into early labour, with many more being induced between the 36-38 week mark. Being right in that range, I keep fearing that at any minute I’ll get a call to go straight to the hospital to pop this baby out. I know it won’t be that sudden (heck, I still haven’t actually been diagnosed yet!), but might as well get everything under control.

Wearing: the softest most comfortable clothes I can find. Anything touching my skin drives me nuts. Plus, some of my maternity clothes are getting a bit too snug, which just isn’t comfortable either.

Googling: shhhh don’t tell my husband I’ve been googling ICP as though that will magically make everything better. No no, it does not. It is a scary scary part of the Internet and absolutely no woman who is pregnant or who ever wants to be pregnant should ever read anything about the stillbirth rates of babies whose mothers have ICP in the middle of the night because google isn’t a doctor and if you’ve got a good doctor, s/he will have done her/his research and looked at your own history and blood work and fetal assessments and determined what is safest for you and your baby. But do I listen to myself? Nope, of course not. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go obsessively google some more.

Categories: The new identity | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Currently: In November

  1. I’m sorry to hear you are dealing with ICP! I hope that everything works out ok. You are definitely in the home stretch though! Thinking of you – hang in there!

  2. Hang in there! It will be exciting to meet that new little peanut soon. Dates sound pretty gross to me too, but worth a shot 🙂

  3. Now a bad approach with can’t hurt, might help. Anything to help! I tried a recipe for healthy blueberry muffin donut holes a few weeks ago and that had dates in it and while it was no substitute for a donut they were pretty good. Here’s the recipe if you want to give it a try: http://www.eatingbirdfood.com/blueberry-muffin-donut-holes/

    I just left out the cashews because I’m cheap and didn’t want to spend the money to buy them just for some experimental recipe and they turned out just fine in my opinion. Wanted to share because I thought it might be a tastier way to eat some dates. 😉

    Sending lots of positive thoughts your way for a healthy remainder of your pregnancy, a safe delivery, and a perfectly healthy baby!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

