Book 10: Breathing it Out

mmd-2016-reading-challenge-pageOk, this is a bit of a stretch.  I am counting: “Hypnobirthing”  (Marie Mongan) as a book I was meaning to read. I received it in September from a friend. I read it in October. I was meaning to read it WITH Scott, but that’s the closest we can get to intentionality. This book was so not worth reading (I say months later), so I want points.

I have a difficult time suspending my disbelief when it comes to taking advice from a book. I don’t necessarily believe that it’s possible to weather contractions by simply visualizing rainbow mists surrounding my body.  I also think it’s a wonderful image to “breathe the baby out” rather than pushing. But whether these tactics will work for everyone? Not likely.

But I did like the focus on breathing. In hindsight, it might have been best to hitch my wagon to the Lamaze horse. But I did use balloon breathing to get through the first 3-4 hours of labour before the epidural.

But the lasting influence of the book? I still have the rainbow mist meditation bookmarked on my phone for those nights when I’ve spent so much time trying to stay awake with a cranky baby that once she falls asleep, I struggle to as well. It’s like magic, every time!

41mzyi7otxl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Categories: The new identity | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Book 10: Breathing it Out

  1. I cannot stop laughing. I read this one too. I did use some of the techniques in it, but I liked some other books I had read WAYYYY better than this one.(Although the one book I loved was a little hippieish too, but I still liked it). Did you get a CD with it too? I think that the CD was possibly worse than the book.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

