Currently: In February

Oh yes, we have finally made it. February is the last month of true winter. March, in my books, is “almost spring,” April is “practically spring” and May is “officially spring” (I know the equinox is in April, but let’s face it; it’s not unheard of for us to be getting snow in May, even if it is an anomaly). But back to chilly February, here is what I am currently up to, thanks to Anne and Erin:

Packing: up stuff we don’t need. And there is a lot we don’t need. I would love to be marathoning this purge but as much as my girls are fiercely independent for their age, it’s rare when I get any amount of time to focus on more than one drawer at a time.

Jonesing: for McDonald’s. We are limiting our eating out for health and financial reasons. But mostly for my pride. C kept telling people that McDonalds was my favourite restaurant. I didn’t think we went there that much but I don’t need the world think we do. In fact I didn’t think I liked it that much until suddenly I wasn’t letting us go there any more.

Texting: my work friends. My job is adequate, but the people I work with are great and I do miss them a lot when I’m off on Mat leave (especially that first time when I came back and they were all off on mat leave).

Wearing: tights. Leggings. Whatever you want to call them. I’ve hit a baby-weight-loss-plateau and while I know it’s normal, I’m still right between the two size groups of jeans. It’s just better for my sanity to stay in stretchy things than have the debate as to whether to spend the day pulling up my pants or squishing out of them.

Hearting: my little girl. Not long after this goes live, I’ll be taking my daughter to the hospital to have a surgery to lengthen the Achilles’ tendon on both legs. I keep wanting to yell “but she’s only 12 weeks old” but I know that her youth is in our favour since it only requires local anesthetic and no stitches at this age.

feb

Categories: The new identity | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Currently: In February

  1. Thinking of you while sweet Maddy has surgery! And I am not even in post-pregnancy but leggings are kind of my favorite right now since I’ve been kind of gaining some weight (damn Presidential stress).

  2. Praying the surgery goes well! I am also in the need for a burger, I miss them while I have been doing the whole 30!

  3. Lauren Becker

    I’m doing a weight loss program, so I’m totally wishing I could go out to eat right about now. I just started too, so I’m hoping it won’t be long until I get more used to it all. haha Right now I’m totally wanting sweets and “bad for you” food.

    I hope your little one’s surgery goes well! Thinking of you all. 🙂

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

  4. Poor, sweet baby. I’ll be praying for surgery and a swift recovery. I agree, good friendships are what makes work worthwhile. 😊 Thanks for linking up!

  5. Rachel G

    Oh, I can only imagine how scary it must be to be taking your tiny one in for a surgery–hope it has all gone smoothly and works like it should!

  6. I am completely with you on the whole once March is here I pretty much consider it some version of spring, no matter the weather! Here’s hoping your daugher’s surgery goes exactly as planned! Even though it sounds like it’s better to get done with they’re really young, I’m sure as a momma there’s still stress involved in any kind of surgery. Sending good thoughts your way!

  7. Oh, your poor baby – I hope all went well! So hard as mom to do those things. And on the lighter side, I love that your texting included discussion of DQ 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

