Currently: In March

I am so excited for March! March means early spring, usually only one more major cold snap and one more major snow storm and then it’s sunshine or rain or anything less depressing than winter! When Anne sent out the email reminder for this month’s Currently, cohosted with Carrie of A Stylish Fit, I burst into a cheek splitting smile because nothing is better than realizing we’ve almost made it through the winter! Currently, I am

March.jpg…watching: Bones. It used to come on after another show I watched five years ago (I can’t remember which) but last time I was on mat leave I started watching it from the pilot on Netflix. Now I’m caught back up again and watching the last season as it airs (ok, a day or two later). I enjoy shows like Bones and The Good Wife which may technically be dramas, but have a levity to them.

…eating: I am an emotional eater and with Maddy having ended her “treatment” phase of CTEV and now on the more difficult stage of relapse prevention with foot abduction braces, I am eating all things junk food. Fuzzy peaches. Sweet and salty popcorn. Snickerdoodles. Brown sugar on toast. I will go back to my resolutions (64 ounces of liquids a day, half a plate of vegetables each meal and three workouts a week) once we’re finally getting used to the new normal (and then 84 more days until the next phase).

…saying: “Put your oxygen mask on first.” I hate the term “self-care” but I’ve been needing a lot of it lately and not always allowing myself a lot of time for it. It’s easier to justify taking an extra long shower on a rough day, stopping at Starbucks on the way to the grocery store. These are all tasks that need to get done, so it’s easier to tack on 5 minutes of “me time” once a day, than to set aside half an hour once a week to help me keep breathing.

…wearing: jeans and a hoodie or leggings and a tunic. On repeat. But I do have a token “going some place” outfit for when I have to look more polished. Of course, it’s still a tunic and leggings but it’s like a grown up version!

33000643035_911799672b_o

…posting: More regularly. I spend a lot of time on my phone during middle of the night feedings and that meant spending a lot of time reading the news. While staying informed is good, there is no personal benefit to reading the news stories about parents convicted of murdering their diabetic child by means of depriving him of insulin and medical care. It weighs heavy on the heart. Instead I’ve been blogging and scheduling posts.

Happy Link Up Guys!

Categories: The new identity | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Currently: In March

  1. I’ve been eating my feelings too regarding the current state of my country, sigh. I need to get back to exercise now that I’m almost over this dang cold. I love the “put your oxygen mask on first” analogy, I really stink at it though! I’m trying to do better as well. Leggings and a tunic is my FAVE. The best.

  2. I am SO with you on needing to take time for self care. It can be hard in this stage of life with young ones! I just started reading The Fringe Hours and she talks about the importance of that in there too. I’ve been eating so much junk right now too… my sweet tooth is out of control.
    I love seeing those cute baby pics on IG 🙂

  3. You can’t be blamed on the eating… and also I love those peach things. Impossible not to eat, really. Love that “going out” tunic – it looks great on you!

  4. Lauren Becker

    Oh gosh, I wish I could eat some candy right about now. Mmm….I’m eating really healthy though so nothing too exciting for me on that front!

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

