Currently: In May

I love May. I think it’s my favourite month. It doesn’t get too hot, but there are some gorgeous days. There’s always the fresh rain, too. If it wasn’t for the pollen counts, I think I could live outside in May.  This month we are…

Currently In May…baking: nothing. Trying to eat healthy here. Trying to limit sugar. Trying to limit snacking. Trying to not be ashamed to be seen next to my sister who had three kids but you can’t tell at the beach this summer (yayayaya, cut myself some slack, I just had a baby, blah blah blah. I drink Coke the way most people drink coffee, so my motivation may be misguided, but the process is probably still needed)

…listening (to): my kid controls the tunes around here and she has a surprisingly eclectic palate. Here is what she’s asked for in the last week:

  • Frozen
  • Sesame Street Platinum All-Time Favourites
  • Bohemian Rhapsody (Queen)
  • My Grandfather’s Clock (Johnny Cash)
  • Hotline Bling (Drake)

I think the last time I got my choice, I went with Janis Joplin’s Greatest Hits.

…loving: family walks for ice cream. I had been bemoaning the fact that we have half a dozen chain restaurants within a 5 minute walk of our house but no ice cream places I felt we could walk to. I was tired of convincing Scott to go pick up ice cream when I finally Google Map-ed it and realized that the nearest DQ is only 3km away (6km/3.7mi round trip). Nothing like getting a treat and an exercise in at the same time! (We’ll ignore the fact the walk burns less than half of a small blizzard).

…planting: nothing, you fools! It’s Manitoba! I’m hoping our snowfall last week was it but I’m not putting winter coats away until Mother’s Day! I did start prepping the area I’m going to build raised beds for my vegetable garden.

…remembering: that sleep eventually happens. Our little chicken (why is she a chicken today?) will fall asleep on her own at the beginning of the night like all the books say to do, but still wakes up after 25 minutes, then 25 minutes, then an hour and ten minutes, and then three hours, and then three hours, and then one hour and then two hours. Every night. But it’s still a huge improvement. I think as soon as she realizes she can roll onto her belly to sleep we’ll get back to those beautiful 8-10 hour stretches she used to do.

Thanks to Anne and Nancy for this month’s Currently!

Categories: The new identity | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Currently: In May

  1. You had me laughing at what you’re planting. And way to go for walking to the Dairy Queen. I would just drive. Last year I almost panicked when I saw they brought back the S’mores Galore Parfait.

  2. LOL about planting! That is kind of why our garden is still inside! And now I want DQ!!

  3. That is definitely an ecletic mix of music your daughter has picked out! That’s great combining exercise with a treat! Good luck with your raised beds….when the weather warms up! Thanks for linking up!

  4. Ohhhh but blizzards are the best thing ever, so we’ll definitely never mind that fact 😉 And yeah, it would be foolish to be planting anything here too, though thankfully we are beyond snow at least. Just plenty of frost danger…

  5. Hey, walking to get ice cream is still way better than driving there! The exercise is still a good thing. 🙂 I haven’t had ice cream in what seems like forever, but is probably only a few months. LOL I’m a weight loss program so nothing like that for me!

    -Lauren

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

