Chicken Salad

When I was a kid, the best part about coming in for a shopping trip with my mom to the big city was going to the mall and getting a chicken salad sandwich from a bakery in the food court. There’s chicken salad sandwich rival no other. It had cucumbers, it had Mandarin  oranges, it had cashews. It might have even been served on a croissant. I don’t know when the bakery closed, but I have spent most of my adult life trying to re-create the sandwich which has undoubtedly growing taste year and taste you in my mind. Especially since I seem to be getting further and further away from the original.

I don’t know when the bakery closed, but I have spent most of my adult life trying to re-create the sandwich which has undoubtedly growing taste year and taste you in my mind. Especially since I seem to be getting further and further away from the original.

I like being home from work this year especially at lunchtime. It means I can do things like experiment with chicken salad sandwiches. It helps that my little girl loves her chicken salad sandwiches too, and is always happy to indulge me and some of my weirder creations.

But lately, we’ve been working with slight variations on the classic. I’ve been mixing the cucumber into the chicken and mayonnaise. It cuts down on the mayo needed because of the water in the cucumber. It also helps stretch the chicken from one sandwich to two. Sometimes we’ll add cheddar for some additional flavour. Sometimes we’ll add almonds for texture. With some crisp lettuce and maybe a tomato, I’m glad we’ve found a meal that hits a lot of food groups, isn’t too terribly unhealthy and usually pleases a temperamental toddler too!

Categories: The new identity | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Chicken Salad

  1. I have no idea if my picky kid would eat that, but this un-picky mom sure would! Sounds delicious!!

  2. Oh wow, I am so impressed that your toddler will eat chicken salad! Mine is on a peanut butter and quesadilla diet… not for lack of trying!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

