Five Things Friday

I blame Buzzfeed, Donald Trump and clubbed feet for the fact I am not reading enough. I used to read when awake at night with babies but now there is always something salacious, concerning or in need of obsessive research. I have read…hmmm… one book in 2017? And so I present to you the next 5 books I am going to read

  1. 51q-v-2bfvsl-_sx321_bo1204203200_Today Will Be Different (Maria Semple): Possibly the most Instagrammed/blogged book of 2017, I might as well jump into this bandwagon. It is pretty much the reason I feel guilty I’m not reading more. There’s a lot of “she works full-time, has two kids and STILL has time to read?” going on here (looking at you, Shea!). Plus, based on the title alone, I think I can identify with this desperate mother.
  2. 51o6tcz7fnl-_sx331_bo1204203200_To Be Or Not to Be (Ryan North): How have I owned this book since Christmas and still not read it? It’s a modern retelling of Hamlet… in Choose Your Own Adventure format. Sorry, I meant “Chooseable-Path Adventure”. Written by an author and cartoonist, it’s sure to be an amusing look at the characters in the Shakespearean classic. While I was angling for his other book, Romeo and/or Juliet for Christmas, and this one arrived in my stocking, I have no doubt that I’ll find it interesting, to say the least.
  3. 518el1s4oyl-_sy346_How to Get Dressed (Allison Freer): Since I’m hoping to work towards a smaller, quality and timeless wardrobe, fit is a must. This book (which I read the first few chapters on Overdrive already) focuses on tips like how to buy jeans that won’t gape in the back when you sit. It’s written by a costume designer, so it is a little frustrating that she says she works with stars, but doesn’t name names, or any other hints.
  4. 41h2ixltr2bl-_sx359_bo1204203200_The Sweetness At The Bottom of the Pie (Alan Bradley): I don’t know where I first saw this book, but everytime I see it, I’m drawn to it. I’m not usually into crime writing (fictional or nonfictional), but how can you not be intrigued by the escapades of an 11 year old sleuth? Maybe I read too much Harriet The Spy and Encyclopedia Brown as a kid… wait… is there such thing as too much Harriet the Spy and Encyclopedia Brown?
  5. 51nbagrvvvl-_sx327_bo1204203200_A Number of Things: Stories about Canada Told Through 50 Objects (Jane Urquhart): With Canada’s 150th coming up in a few weeks, it’s hard to not get into the Canadiana of it all. The fact that I spent a good mass of years studying the literary tradition of attempting to enunciate Canadian identity also makes it a must-read for me. Plus, the goose just makes me laugh.
Categories: The new identity | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday

  1. Let me know when you plan on reading the Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and I will too. I own a copy and have never read it! We can compare notes! I want to read Maria’s book too. And trust me, reading books is so much better than reading up on Trump. Says the American. Trust me.

  2. You crack me up 🙂 I may read a lot, but it’s often at the expense of things like cleaning my house, and talking to real live non-toddlers during my lunch break at work. (Is it sad that I prefer books to people?) Anyway, I love this mix of books you picked here. Today Will Be Different is fun and quirky so far, and I’m really intrigued by The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. I feel like I’ve heard about that one before, you’ll have to let us know how it is!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

