Currently: In June

June! It’s a touch hot for my taste right now, but better too hot than too cold! We’re soaking up the sun through the parts of skin that sweated off the SPF 50 zinc oxide sunscreen. Thanks to Anne and Erin for another month of Currently!

Currently June

… planning: M’s baptismal barbecue lunch at the end of June. It’s far enough away that I’m still excited and not overwhelmed at the idea of it. Mostly, it’s just a good excuse to look up fun fruity desserts

… wishing: for more sleep. For a while we were in a good routine of M waking up between midnight and 2, eating and going back to sleep and then waking at about 6:15, eating and going back to sleep and then me going for a workout. But now, that second wake up is anywhere from 3 to 5:45, and she is a fight to get back asleep and into the crib. I’ll often be up for an hour, which sometimes means only getting about another 25 minutes of sleep before she’s up for the day and waking her big sister up with her chatter. I feel so groggy that I can’t wrap my head around a workout, so even when Scott gets up with the girls and lets me sleep, I’m losing out on the energy I get from that. Plus this time around, my body just isn’t tolerating coffee. I’m actually dreaming about sleeping for 8 solid hours. 

… learning: how to sustain a garden. This is the first year that we’re doing raised beds and it turns out that the things I thought would be hard are easy, and the things that are hard are things I never even thought of. Like waiting until seeds sprout, and then hoping you don’t pull them thinking they are weeds. I mean, how am I supposed to know the difference?

… browsing: lawn furniture and car listings. Those are two separate searches, for what it’s worth. We’re spending more time outside, and carting more stuff around in our car than it can handle, so both would be handy.

… going: to the farmer’s market. Last year, we bought a share in a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) and it was all right. We enjoyed always having vegetables but they weren’t always the vegetables that we wanted. Since my garden is still in the early stages, I’m missing the fresh veggies so we’re going to the mid-week Farmer’s Market (the Saturday one is bananas!) whenever we need to supplement our little garden. We’ll still end up picking up produce at the grocery store too (we may have a fruit & veggie loving  little kid in our house) but the more local we can get, the better! Plus, it’s errands and a fun outing all in one!

Categories: The new identity | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Currently: In June

  1. I hope you get some better sleep soon! I can’t imagine how rough that is without coffee. Can you do tea? Nate drinks an iced tea every morning because he can’t handle coffee either. And I can’t wait to get to my Farmer’s Market!

  2. I feel like I’m going to be tired for the rest of my life, haha- so I feel you. I hope you can get some sleep/rest soon! I’m getting excited to visit our Farmer’s Market too πŸ™‚

  3. Haha that sweet spot of excited but not yet stressed. Hope it stays that way πŸ™‚ And I need to find another CSA – we’ve done it a couple of summers, and it’s so great.

  4. I wish we had a mid-week farmers market here! Hat would be awesome. Sorry about your sleep- we have been there and I hope it gets better soon!!

  5. Ouch, wishing a full nights sleep for you! And I’m looking forward to start going to one of our local farmer’s markets again because it is so perfect for fresh fruit and veggies, plus I always think it’s the perfect excuse to buy myself flowers too because it’d be just rude for me not to support a local grower, right?! πŸ™‚

  6. Hey, we’re going to the farmer’s market too πŸ™‚ I hope you get some sleep soon! It’s funny how before kids you dream of nights out and staying out late and sleeping in, and after kids all you want to do is go to bed early and have 8 hours of UNINTERRUPTED sleep. Or at least that’s what I dream about.

    • I had a dream last night that ended with me closing a book and saying: “well, I slept long enough to actually finish a book.” It was only 5 straight hours, but still pretty good!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

