Adding It Up

My sister has a lawn care service.

I don’t know why that revelation blew my mind. It makes sense. They live on a huge piece of property, with a fairly decent slope to it. They own a successful business which eats up a lot of their time, and have three kids. We have commiserated with each other over the fact that laundry never gets done, and shared secrets for what to do when your kids are out of clean laundry.

But she still always seemed to have it more together than me.

I could never figure out what I was lacking. What made me so ill-equipped to face life with a smaller house, fewer kids and a husband who worked fewer hours? I could tell myself that my kids are younger. I could tell myself its because I value, even need, my downtime more. I could tell myself its because I’m not getting as much sleep at night. But at the end of the day, I just felt inadequate.

But that’s not the case.

Between establishing careers, raising children, pursuing interests and setting ourselves up for pinterest fails, something has to go. And it does for everyone. But we don’t often get to see how others cope with it, usually because we’re comparing our failings to their successes.

The day after I found out my sister gets someone to look after her lawn, I noticed our neighbour has someone come in to clean his house. And the house across the street had someone in to paint. While we used to joke that my brother-in-law didn’t have a toolkit, he had a wallet, there is something valuable in knowing your limits, and knowing your price. Is it worth it to pay for someone to do this so I can focus on something I find more important ore rewarding?

It turns out the issue isn’t with where I fall short. The issue is where my bank account does.

Categories: The new identity | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Adding It Up

  1. Comparison is the thief of joy. But I am seriously jealous of her yard service too. We have no excuses either. We have one child. Our house is not that big. But our lot is massive and some days Nate needs his downtime (he does the yardwork mostly) so sometimes the yard takes a backseat. And so does the cleaning. I’d pay someone in a heartbeat too if I had the money. But instead I go with the excuse the mess, the children are making memories mantra. At least I try! Doesn’t mean I succeed (especially when my bestie put an offer on a house that will be bigger and nicer than mine).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

