Five Things Friday

My kids are pretty much driving me batty this week. We had a mini-vacation, having been camping Friday through Monday with my family, so the kids are spoiled from all the ice cream, spoiled from staying up late, and spoiled from all the attention. M never wants to be put down because she was always in Grandpa’s arms or on Mommy’s back. C is constantly bored because there aren’t two boys poking at her with sticks (I fear she probably started that), or an older cousin making her presents every two seconds.

That being said, there have been a number of really sweet moments over the last few days that I don’t want to forget

  1. M’s great big belly laughs at her sister. M has always been a tough cookie when it comes to cracking a laugh. Weeks would go by where I would be the only one that she would giggle for, and that’s only if I tickled her just right. But the other day, as Scott and I were making supper, C was driving a little car around M, and she was just cackling with laughter.
  2. A soothing song between sisters. M’s separation anxiety is at its worst in the stroller because I think she knows I’m there but can’t see me. Since I refuse to drive to my sister’s (unless I am also running errands), it usually means a rough walk home from a tired and lonely baby. But today, C started singing “Puff the Magic Dragon” to her, and it melted my little heart — and calmed her sister down too (though having just seen Peter Yarrow live at Folk Fest, that song *might* be ruined for me).
  3. C’s silly jokes. C has one joke, and she tells it (using two different voices) as though it’s her and M interacting:Knock Knock

    Who’s there?
    M
    M who?
    M, you sure like some silly jokes!

    It’s not a good joke, but it usually makes us laugh at her attempt, and even gets a decent reaction from her sister.

  4. C is starting to understand consequences and responsibilities. M was chewing on one of C’s toys, and C started to get angry, and then said: “Oh no, M. You’re not supposed to chew on that! I should have put it away!”
  5. Spontaneous development. M has shown no interest in clapping. I don’t know why it’s always felt like such an important milestone to me. She’s started “dancing” when she likes a song, but her moves are all in the waist. But one morning, Pharrell’s “Happy” came on, and she started clapping her hands as though she’s always been able to do it.
Categories: The new identity | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Five Things Friday

  1. Ollie tries to tell jokes too and it’s so cute even if they aren’t funny, they always make us laugh because he tries. I am curious why seeing Peter Yarrow live ruined Puff for you? Other than the fact that he is likely old as dirt? I love how much C seems to love M! So sweet!

  2. So sweet! Violet (also a reluctant laugher) always smiles and laughs the most for Jona. I love it. And yay for #4!! I feel like I’m constantly having to tell Jona–if you don’t want Violet chewing on that, don’t leave it on the floor!

  3. shaunaceyb

    it’s the sweetest thing when they start interacting… and then… before you know it, you’ll be breaking up fights lol BUT the good news is, there’s lots of super sweet moments to come – I catch Ollie and Annabelle having the cutest interactions sometimes, it warms my cold heart lol

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

