Five Things Friday

It feels likes it’s been a while since I did one of these; I’m almost daunted at the idea of it! But I feel like “Good Mom” days are starting to outnumber “Screamy Mom” days and as any parent knows, that’s not necessarily because the kids have been acting differently. No, here are the five things that are making my life easier. 

  1. Baby gate. I’ve been talking about putting it up all summer but once M started crawling, it became a necessity. But it also brings me peace of mind as we’re shuffling out the door because it’s a small entry way and a steep flight of stairs. Simply leaving the house seems much less tense with a clumsy toddler 
  2. Emptying the dishwasher. If you’ve read A Slob Comes Clean, you’ll know this is a huge part of her strategy to keep on top of the mess. For me, it’s less about the dishes themselves, but the fact that unloading the dishwasher usually means loading it back up, and grabbing dishes from the table usually means clearing the counters, and so on and so on. 
  3. Dresses. Sunday, M was sick. C was mostly better but still very moody and upset we had cancelled her weekend at the lake. And it was hot. I needed a break and a friend needed someone to take a look at a house on the market with her. I had very little time to go from “Nurse Mom” to pretending I had it together. Enter the dress. So fast. So pulled together. Doesn’t really matter what dress, I’m just loving them all right now. 
  4. Showing myself some grace. I put fake flowers in a planter that has been a struggle to keep alive all summer (every summer for that matter). I stopped trying to make every supper noteworthy since the toddler is going through a picky phase anyway. 
  5. Goodnight Yoga. We picked this book up at the library this week, and it’s meant that C wants me to put her to bed, something that hasn’t happened in a very long time (since I do naps, Scott usually puts C to bed.) It’s not a challenging yoga session, nor very long, but it’s nice to have some quality non-yelling time with my girl. And I think it makes the rest of the bedtime routine that follows more relaxed too.
Categories: The new identity | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday

  1. These are all very good things to be happy about in my book. Dresses really are amazing sometimes. I kind of dread winter when it will be harder to pull one on to look put together. I also agree about the dishwasher. The whole house really does feel cleaner when we stay on top if it!

  2. Ooh I love the idea of bedtime yoga. Bedtime has gotten a lot better at our house, but it’s still often a struggle with Jona. We’re in baby gate land too, although ours drive me crazy. We just have way too many stairs (and therefore, too many baby gates) in our house. I didn’t think that through when we bought our house!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

