Five Things Friday

Logically, I know I have three full month until I go back to work (and I’m also aware that is more than many women get at all) but since I went back to work after having C in September, that’s what my brain thinks is happening again.  As a result, my brain is panicking about all the things we didn’t get to do… and the good news is that we still have time to do them!

  1. Summer things – one more trip to the beach, one to the splashpad and maybe one to the wading pool just down the street
  2. Children’s Museum – we’ll likely hold off on this one for a little while, since they charge you per person regardless of age, so we’ll wait until my youngest person is a little bigger and might get more out of the baby&tots area
  3. Have a Mommy & Me day – just C and I for a bit. I know this mat leave was to bond with my baby, but my big baby needs me just as much, if not more, now. Plus, she’s starting pre-school very soon and I feel her childhood is quickly slipping away
  4. Spend more time outside. If it’s not raining, we usually are outside for part of the day, but I never feel like it’s enough. That may be due to the fact that when I want to go outside, C doesn’t, but when we’re not outside, she’s crying to go out.
  5. Set personal and professional goals before I go back. It’s much too easy to rest on my laurels when I’m back at work, but I know I’m not happy in my job (not that I’m unhappy) so I want to see what I can do to make sure that if I have to work, it’s going to be something that I want to do.
Categories: The new identity | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday

  1. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with planning for going back now. Three months will sadly go fast especially as it’s the time of year with holidays and craziness coming up. I love all your plans, I especially love that you want to do a day with just C, I don’t think there is anything wrong with that! And I hope you can make your work situation something that is happier for you. I know that struggle too well.

  2. I definitely found myself panicking a little when my maternity leave was getting close to being over and wanting to fit in all the things. I totally agree that spending time with our bigger babies is as important, if not more important, than time with the little ones. I feel like that is the biggest challenge with parenting two! I hope you’re able to do these things!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

